Reviews

Hiring the right photographer is important. Before you book someone to capture some of the most important moments in your life, it's a great idea to hear from previous clients to make sure you're making a good investment.

Since I have control over which reviews show up here, I understand if you want to view reviews from a source where I don't have control. The places where clients can review me are:

Karen & Justin

Married on 29/02/2020
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Exceptional photographer, very professional

"My husband and I only have wonderful things to say about our experiences with Ben! Before our own wedding, we had been a part of several family members' weddings that had Ben had photographed. It was a no-brainer when we got engaged on who would be our first vendor call. Before our engagement shoot we were feeling a little awkward which Ben quickly helped us get over.

From both viewpoints as a wedding guest and as bride & groom, Ben made everyone feel completely at ease and comfortable throughout the whole process--he's extremely professional and has a great attention to detail. We also leaned on him heavily throughout the wedding to keep us on schedule and to help dictate order of photos, etc. He is knowledgeable, organized, personable, and super accommodating. He is a true artist and you will not regret having him as part of your wedding. The photos he delivered are exceptional and they really showcase our entire day."

Written by Karen on 02/07/2020 on WeddingWire

Kelsee & Taylor

Married on 18/10/2019
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Amazing and Talented!

"Oh my god we cannot rave about Ben enough! We are so happy we went with him! He’s personable, creative, flexible, talented and overall amazing. When we begun searching for photographers, he stood out the most with the tone and feel in his pictures. He did our engagement photos and wedding. He was so flexible with our day and captured every shot we wanted, plus more we never even thought of! I loved the candid moments he caught in a world where people tend to always pose or not be themselves. The album he made for us was amazing and it’s something we will cherish for a lifetime. 100/10 would recommend!"

Written by Kelsee on 26/05/2020 on WeddingWire

Natalie & Mike

Married on 12/10/2019
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
bride and groom kissing in Toronto's distillery district
"...because of Ben's skilled direction and calm presence, we had such a fun time and it all
felt very natural..."

Skilled, Calm Vibe, Beautiful & Memorable Photos

"Ben did such an amazing job as our wedding photographer, we could not have been happier with how much easier he made the process and how wonderful the photos turned out! Ben had flexible packages to choose from ranging in prices. We opted for one of the packages that included engagement photos and we are so glad that we did! Getting our engagement photos done helped us feel more comfortable in front of the camera, which was helpful on our wedding day. And Ben provides such a calming, relaxed, and fun experience with good direction when you're just getting used to having your photo taken. My husband & I went into our engagement photos feeling nervous, but because of Ben's skilled direction and calm presence, we had such a fun time and it all felt very natural - lending to more candid, genuine, and natural photos that capture the nature of our relationship. Throughout the process Ben was so helpful when it came to helping us pick shooting locations, answering any questions that we had in good detail, and was quick to respond to emails.

On our wedding day, Ben kept in communication with us, arrived on time despite heavy traffic, and continued to be his calm self which allowed myself, husband, our wedding party, and guests to also relax and enjoy the day. It is obvious working with Ben how experienced and skilled he is with a camera. The photos came out beautifully!! I could not have imagined them better. We also had the package that included a printed photo album. It was beautiful! And all of our finished photos were super easy to access online, print, and share with our friends and family. Our biggest difficulty now is choosing our favourites to display around our house!"

Written by Natalie on 19/05/2020 on WeddingWire, Google & Facebook

Amy & Rob

Married on 21/09/2019
bride and groom laughing by hay bails
"We had such a wonderful experience!
Ben made our day even more special."

"We had such a wonderful experience! Ben made our day even more special. I’d recommend Ben to anyone needing photography!"

Written by Amy on 24/09/2020 on Facebook

"Ben was amazing! So talented...patient. I’ve been looking at his pictures for a long time...and we were fortunate enough to have Ben do the photography for our daughters wedding this past Saturday. He did not disappoint! Thank you Ben...and it was wonderful seeing you again!"

Written by Barbara (mother of the bride) on 23/09/2020 on Facebook

Monique & Zack

Married on 07/09/2019
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
bride and groom kiss surrounded by tall grass
"He has a miraculous ability to capture people at
their very best..."

"I'm not the most photogenic person, and am highly critical of photos of myself. I trusted Ben wholeheartedly to capture us on our wedding day and was not disappointed. Ben is a true professional, he's a calming presence that fits right into the family. He has a miraculous ability to capture people at their very best and I am so grateful for the opportunity to have worked with him.

I have recommended him to my closest friends as -the- person for their wedding and would highly recommend [him] to you, kind stranger, who's looking at this review."

Written by Monique on 03/03/2020 on Google

Stacey & Phil

Married on 23/08/2019
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
wedding couple kissing under bridge
"Having never had professional photos done before my husband and I weren't sure what to expect. Ben made us feel comfortable and relaxed..."

Incredibly Thankful!

"Having never had professional photos done before my husband and I weren't sure what to expect. Ben made us feel comfortable and relaxed during our engagement shoot which helped prepare us for the wedding. We received many compliments from guests on how he "just didn't stop working all night," and you can tell based on the final product. We are so incredibly happy with all our photos and how well he captured our day. We will forever be thankful we chose him for the job!"

Written by Stacey on 15/05/2020 on WeddingWire, Google & Facebook

Natalee & Justin

Married on 17/08/2019
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
bride and groom kissing in late day sunlight with beautiful bridal bouquet
"Highly recommend!"

"Our wedding photos are incredible! Ben was professional and made us feel comfortable through the whole experience. Highly recommend!"

Written by Natalee on 18/05/2020 on Google

Courtney & Justen

Married on 22/06/2019
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Fantastic Photographer

"Ben was the first vendor we contacted after getting engaged because we knew we wanted him to capture our wedding day. Wedding photos were one of the most important things for us, since they will be what we get to look back on for years to come. Needless to say, Ben did an absolutely incredible job and we couldn’t be happier with the results. He made us feel comfortable and free to be ourselves, and in all honesty, we didn’t even notice he was there most of the time since we were too busy enjoying the day. I can’t help but smile every time I look through our photos. He captured the feeling and emotion of the day so well that it still feels like it was yesterday even though it was already 8 months ago. Ben’s work is absolutely stunning, and we can’t say enough good things about him. We would recommend him to anyone looking for a great photographer!"

Written by Courtney on 14/02/2020 on WeddingWire & Google

Kailagh & Christian

Married on 18/01/2019
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
bride & groom sit together at night on steps of Cambridge Mill
"I despise having my picture taken... Ben made it fun... & kept the whole thing feeling very natural."

"Ben was great. I despise having my picture taken & was pretty grumpy with my wife for making me do engagement photos. Ben made it fun, had us playing brain teaser type games to make each other smile & kept the whole thing feeling very natural. Coming from someone who passionately dislikes photo day, I didn't mind it at all. Fast forward to our wedding and he made that as painless as possible too, but most importantly my wife loved the pictures."

Written by Christian on 09/05/2020 on Google & Facebook

Heather & Dave

Married on 20/10/2018
bride & groom portraits on the porch of a historic building
"Ben is an amazing photographer!!"

"Ben is an amazing photographer!! He knows how to organize people, get the most sincere smiles, and work with whatever he has to create great memory keepsakes! Thank you for everything Ben!"

Written by Heather on 04/11/2018 on Facebook

Amy & Josh

Married on 23/06/2018
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Great Choice

"I would highly recommend Ben to everyone. Not only are his pictures beautiful but he is wonderful to work with. My wedding had many last minute changes due to weather and he was so accommodating and made everything work so effortlessly. Even when we lost track of time and he was done for the night, he let me know before he left that we didn’t do our dances yet and he offered to stay an extra hour to capture those moments. I also think he takes some of the best candid photos I’ve ever seen. Seeing pictures of our loved ones smiling and laughing throughout the day, are my absolute favourite. I will forever be thankful to Ben for capturing the story of our wedding day perfectly!"

Written by Amy on 11/06/2018 on WeddingWire & Facebook

Taryn & David

Married on 18/05/2018
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
wedding couple dances after sunset surrounded by guests with sparklers
"He was great to work with and made both of us feel as comfortable as possible in front of the camera."

Great Experience!

"We used Ben for our wedding and engagement photos. He was great to work with and made both of us feel as comfortable as possible in front of the camera. He had fun with our wedding party throughout the wedding day and made sure to get all of the shots that we wanted. He found the perfect spots to take pictures and they turned out beautifully! We could not have been happier with our wedding photos and were so happy with how easy Ben was to work with and how quickly he always responded to our millions of questions leading up to the wedding. I would definitely recommend him as a photographer!!"

Written by Taryn on 21/11/2018 on Google & WeddingWire

Amanda & Thomas

Married on 18/05/2018
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
high-angle shot of bride and groom smiling at each other
"We were nervous... Ben does a fantastic job of capturing the moments where you aren't focused on the camera, which creates some outstanding photos."

"We first came across Ben through a friend's wedding and thought he did a fantastic job at capturing candid moments from their wedding. From the moment we first contacted him to the moment we received our wedding photos, Ben was always prompt, professional, patient, and accommodating. We were nervous for our engagement photos as we both felt awkward during the shoot but the pictures turned out to be amazing. Ben does a fantastic job of capturing the moments where you aren't focused on the camera, which creates some outstanding photos. I have no idea how he managed to get shots from so many different angles during our ceremony, either, as you never notice him or the camera. I cannot recommend Ben enough and we were incredibly happy with our wedding photos. The extra touches like the sample pictures sent to us ahead of the final photos indicate the care Ben gives to each of his clients and the energy, patience, and humour he brought to each shoot really made him stand apart from other photographers."

Written by Thomas on 17/11/2018 on Google

Kayla & Dan

Married on 24/02/2018
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
bride smiles as groom kisses her on the cheek
"...able to capture genuine smiles in all of our pictures. He is energetic, fun, and patient which made us feel at-ease throughout the entire day."

"We had Ben for our Engagement and Wedding photos and he did an amazing job. He was so easy to work with and was able to capture genuine smiles in all of our pictures. He is energetic, fun, and patient which made us feel at-ease throughout the entire day. Ben gave us a wedding album that we will love forever (and will continuously show to everyone!!). Thank you so much for your amazing work on our special day."

Written by Kayla on 16/04/2018 on Google

Steve & Zach

Married on 04/11/2017
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

"Aside from actually being married, our biggest goal was to come away from our wedding with nice pictures of us and our loved ones, and we could not be happier. Ben was an absolute pleasure to deal with and he did a great job at making us comfortable on camera (which in my case is no easy feat!). His work is incredible and we are so glad to have chosen him! We would strongly recommend his services to anyone."

Written by Steve on 27/01/2018 on Facebook

Marissa & Daniel

Married on 12/08/2017
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

"My husband and I could not be happier with our entire photography experience with Ben Lariviere! He made us both feel so comfortable and we are typically very camera shy. After receiving our photos, we could not be happier! We have heard nothing but compliments on his photos, from our family and friends! Ben completely captured every moment of our special day and in such a real and beautiful way."

Written by Marissa on 30/10/2017 on WeddingWire

Alyssa & Michael

Married on 22/07/2017
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
bride and groom sit together by park fountain in toronto
"...Ben was a spectacular wedding photographer and we couldn't be happier with his work."

"Me and my wife had the pleasure of hiring Ben to be our wedding photographer last year, and we couldn't have been more satisfied. After reaching out to Ben from a friend recommendation, he was always very helpful with his advice and guidance to give us the best options such as photo locations, schedule which was flexible, and sincere pricing. He made the entire process very simple for us in regards to planning the engagement and wedding photos, especially on the wedding day after our schedule was altered due to inclement weather, Ben was able to find a alternative location before the reception for the wedding party photos which helped us tremendously. As for the photos we were really impressed with his shots, and his turnaround time for the photo proofs were given to us quickly considering how busy wedding season is during the summer. He was able to include all the special moments we asked for with perfect angles, lighting, small details, and backgrounds. Overall Ben was a spectacular wedding photographer and we couldn't be happier with his work. We'd recommend him to anyone for not just weddings but any photography work!"

Written by Michael on 10/01/2018 on Facebook

Beverly & Vish

Married on 25/06/2017
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
bride and groom stand together hand-in-hand by crumbling barn foundation
"...a master of 'ninja' photography; capturing beautiful
moments you would otherwise miss."

"Ben was recommended to us through a good friend and we couldn't be happier with the quality of his work! It can be really strange being in front of a camera, but Ben is really easy going and so made it easy to relax. He is also a master of 'ninja' photography; capturing beautiful moments you would otherwise miss. If you are going to invest your money anywhere choose a quality photographer, and choose Ben!"

Written by Beverly on 13/02/2018 on Facebook

Dana & Joe

Married on 28/01/2017
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

"When searching for a photographer for our winter wedding Ben was an obvious choice! Ben has done SO many of our friends weddings and so I knew already how great he was to work with. He captured our winter wonderland beautifully, to even catching the falling snow on our faces as we kissed! Ben made my husband and I, along with the rest of our wedding party feel extremely comfortable in front the camera. His hard work and dedication really shows in pictures! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to friends or family!"

Written by Dana on 11/07/2017 on Facebook

Brenda & Reid

Married on 28/10/2016
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
bride and groom kiss on metal walking bridge with blue skies
"Ben has become a friend and is a part of my life, my wife's life, and the lives of the friends and family..."

"I met Ben many years ago through a mutual friend and since that time he has done headshots, engagement shoots, and wedding photos not only for myself but for a number of close friends. He is an incredibly talented and dedicated photographer, for which I always recommend him to others.

But even more importantly, Ben has become a friend and is a part of my life, my wife's life, and the lives of the friends and family around us. His care and investment in our photographs became an investment in our lives, and the result is a collection of cherished memories captured beautifully and professionally, and a wonderful human addition to our lives."

Written by Reid Vanier on 01/05/2017 on Facebook

Ashley & Matt

Married on 22/10/2016
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

"Ben was a fantastic photographer to work with for our wedding. Not only did he take amazing photo's that we cherish, but he was also just a great person to be around during such an important day. He is very calm and unobtrusive, you feel at ease with him around, which ultimately results in better photos. I would recommend him to anyone looking for a photographer, and would definitely use him in the future!"

Written by Ashley on 06/05/2017 on WeddingWire

Heidi & Clark

Married on 06/08/2016
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

"My husband and I are so pleased with our pictures. Ben captured our day perfectly and was also so easy going and fun to work with. When it came to choosing a wedding photographer, we didn't bother looking around. Ben's previous work was wonderful and he met all of our expectations. We were both nervous in front of the camera, but Ben helped us to relax and captured beautiful, natural moments that we can now look back on forever."

Written by Heidi Rumble on 11/05/2017 on WeddingWire

Hayley & Justin

Married on 18/07/2015
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
bride and groom smiling and cuddling together on wooden outdoor staircase
"He catches your most natural moments,
and those are my favourite pictures."

"Ben is amazing! He was the photographer for all 3 of my sisters' weddings. I knew it was an excellent choice choosing him for my own wedding. His creativity will make your pictures outstanding! He catches your most natural moments, and those are my favourite pictures. I would highly recommend Ben to anyone. He is a pleasure to work with and really listens to what you want!"

Written by Hayley Spencer on 30/06/2016 on WeddingWire

Kris

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

"Ben not only produces the utmost professional work, but is also a pleasure and joy to work with while he does his shoot. Highly recommended for anyone looking to have portraits, family photos or wedding/engagement sessions. A+!"

Written by Kris Lewis on 20/11/2016 on Facebook